CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT
All CHL applicants must make an appointment for New, Renewal, Transfer, Address Change, Name Change, Duplicate and Reinstatement applications.
You MUST be a resident of Tillamook County or own property in Tillamook County to apply
STARTING SEPTEMBER 25, 2021
THE FEE SCHEDULE IS GOING TO INCREASE
NOTICE: Senate Bill 554, passed in the 2021 Oregon Legislative Session, will increase the fees for Concealed Handgun Licenses to $115.00 (including fingerprint fee) for a new license and $75.00 for a renewal of a license. The increased fee will take effect September 25, 2021.
Oregon is an open carry state, however you should check with the City you are travelling through to confirm their City Ordinance regarding carrying concealed.
Concealed Weapons Permit Fees
Address Change / Replacement.....$15.00
Concealed Weapons Resources
Renewal applicants who already posses a permit with Tillamook County need to make an appointment.
Please bring all required documents with you to your appointment:
* Drivers License showing you are a resident of Tillamook County
* Tillamook County Concealed Weapons Permit
* Passport (Current) or State Certified Birth Certificate
Requirements for a Concealed Weapons Permit
be at least 21 years of age
be a US citizen or have proof of application with intent to become a citizen
never have been convicted of a disqualifying crime of domestic violence
never have been convicted of a felony
not have been convicted of a misdemeanor in the last four years
not be a registered sex offender
not have been convicted of more than one drug-related crime
pay appropriate fees
provide written documentation that demonstrates that you have taken a handgun safety course
pass a background check
Concealed Weapons Permit FAQs
How Long Does it Take to Get My CWP License?
ORS 166.292 states that the Sheriff’s Office has 45 days, from the date of application, to approve or deny an application. We will mail either the permit to your current mailing address from your current application, or a letter stating reasons for denial with that time.
How Long is My License Valid?
The permit is valid for four (4) years from the date of issuance, unless cancelled or revoked during that time.
What Happens if I Move?
ORS 807.110(3) i requires a DMV license that contains the residence address of the person to whom the license is issued. You are required to change your CHL address within the same 30 days of moving. Failure to do so could result in revocation. If you have moved to, or within, Tillamook County, you must change your address with DMV prior to changing your CHL address. You will be asked to bring in your valid Oregon Driver’s License that reflects your new address. If you move out of Tillamook County you must apply in the county in which you reside.
When Do I Need to Carry My CWP?
You MUST carry your CWP on your person whenever you carry a concealed weapon. Failure to do so could result in a charge of Unlawful Possession of a Firearm, a Class A Misdemeanor.
How do I satisfy the competency requirement?
Please do not apply until you have met the competency requirement in one of the following ways:
Complete a handgun safety class taught by an NRA certified instructor. Certification or card issued must be presented at the time of your scheduled appointment. Contact local gun dealers for class referrals.
Complete the online safety class offered through the Oregon State Sheriff's Association Concealed Weapon Class
Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety offered for security guards or other law enforcement officers. Certification must be presented at your scheduled appointment.
Obtain a copy of your DD214 if it indicates you are competent with a handgun, sidearm or pistol. If your DD214 does not indicate competency, we will be unable to accept this as proof of your competency, even if used while in the Armed Forces.
Why Do I Have to Have a Background Check?
The purpose of the background check is to verify that all required paperwork has been completed. A criminal record check, including the National crime information center (NCIC), a driving record check with the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles, a check with the Oregon Department of Corrections, and a mental health check will be completed.
Oregon Statutes Allow the Sheriff to Deny a Permit if the Sheriff has reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant has been or is reasonably likely to be a danger to self or others, or to the community at large, as a result of the applicant’s mental or psychological state, as demonstrated by past pattern of behavior or participation in incidents involving unlawful violence or threats of unlawful violence
If you believe that you are eligible and may qualify for an exception, you may petition the courts. Then, bring the appropriate court documentation, dates, and explanation of the circumstances with you at the time of your appointment.
Can I apply for an Oregon license issued by Tillamook County if I live in another state?
Oregon law states that a sheriff may waive the residency requirement for a resident of a contiguous state that has a compelling business interest or other legitimate demonstrated need. At this time the Tillamook County Sheriff has chosen not to issue to out of State applicants.